Secret City - Paperback

Secret City

by Julia Watts
1944. When sixteen-year-old Ruby Pickett and her family move to the new, government-built city of Oak Ridge, Tennessee, Ruby knows that her daddy’s new job will help the war effort, but she has no idea how. Ruby is not alone in her lack of knowledge, as the city’s true purpose is a carefully guarded secret. A thinker and a reader, Ruby has always been restless, and she finds Oak Ridge a much more stimulating environment than her old home in rural Southeastern Kentucky.

Ruby finds a kindred spirit in twenty-three-year-old Iris, a wife and mother who has moved to Oak Ridge with her scientist husband and is frustrated by the intellectual limitations of being a full-time housewife. Ruby and Iris’s relationship starts as friendship but deepens in emotional intensity until it, like the purpose of Oak Ridge itself, is a dangerous secret.
Paperback
Add To Wishlist
$11.95


eBook
$9.99
Genre LGBT Young Adult
Pub Date July 2013
# Pages 266
Publisher Bella Books
ISBN 9781594933905
Editor Katherine V. Forrest
Cover Designer Kiaro Creative

Extras

  • We fell in love with Ruby Pickett--her tomboy awkwardness, passionate belief in justice and determination to get to the truth. She is in the tradition of Harper Lee's Scout and Ruth Perkinson's Piper!
  • Read the appetizer! Click to open a PDF in a new window.

Reviews

GCLS Goldie Awards

Secret CityWinner,
Lesbian Young Adult.

Lambda Literary Foundation

Secret City — Finalist, LGBT Young Adult.

Curve Magazine

The story is warm-hearted, tender, full of interesting, well-developed characters... A worthy read for everyone who will want to explore the times when women started out to become more independent or for all who just want to read a really good historical novel.

Lambda Literary Review

Reviewer Julie HarthillSecret City is an important addition to the genre... The novel explores themes such as war, forbidden love, and coming-of-age in a way that resonates; readers of all ages will catch glimpses of themselves in Watts' setting and in her beautifully-drawn characters.

Further Praise for Julia Watts!

Lambda Literary Awards: Julia Watts — Winner, LGBT Young Adult for Finding H.F.


More Titles

Finding H.F.

Julia Watts
Free Spirits

Julia Watts
Girl Talk eStory

Julia Watts
Kindred Spirits

Julia Watts
Manicure eStory

Julia Watts
Once Upon a Dyke

Kallmaker, Johnson, Szymanski & Watts
Revived Spirits

Julia Watts
Secret City

Julia Watts
Tall in the Saddle

Kallmaker, Johnson, Szymanski & Watts
Wildwood Flowers

Julia Watts
Women's Studies

Julia Watts
Bell, Book & Dyke

Kallmaker, Johnson, Szymanski & Watts
Stake Through the Heart

Johnson, Kallmaker, Szymanski, Watts