Lessons in Murder

by Claire McNab

On a hot summer day at Bellwhether High School in Sydney, Australia, teacher Bill Pagett lies murdered, the hole in his head accomplished with neat efficiency by a Black & Decker drill.

Detective Inspector Carol Ashton investigates, bringing with her a formidable reputation for competence. She soon uncovers tangled relationships and motives for murder among the six teaching staff, along with a maze of malicious anonymous letters and threatening phone calls. And then there is yet another corpse.

Carol’s investigation is further complicated by the flashfire attraction between herself and prime suspect Sybil Quade. Carol fights her desire, knowing its potential to compromise her investigation. Nor does Sybil welcome an ” unnatural” obsession with the alluring woman who is inexorably gathering the evidence to convict her of multiple murder.

First in the Carol Ashton Series.

Originally published by Naiad Press 1988.



In stock



Genre Mystery
Length 198 pages
Publication Date January 1, 1988
Publisher Bella Books
ISBN 9781931513654
Editor Katherine V Forrest & Becky Ellis
Cover Designer Judith Fellows


  • The first book in the Inspector Carol Ashton Series
  • By the same author as the Denise Cleever and Kylie Kendall mysteries
  • Claire McNab is a nine-time finalist for a Lambda Literary Award and author of over 60 novels.
  • Read the appetizer! Click to open a PDF in a new window.

Lambda Literary Foundation
Lessons in Murder - Finalist, Lesbian Mystery.

Customer Reviews


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Lessons in Murder – Paperback”

More Titles

  • Accidental Murder by Claire McNab $9.99
  • Blood Link by Claire McNab $9.99
  • Body Guard by Claire McNab $9.99
  • Chain Letter by Claire McNab $9.99
  • $9.99
  • Dead Certain by Claire McNab $9.99